Dartford Borough Council streams Remembrance Service online

Thousands watched Dartford’s Remembrance Service held online, as a select number of invited representatives gathered at the War Memorial in Central Park to pay their respects.

Due to social distancing measures, no public gathering took place but people were able to watch the service from an online video stream provided by the Dartford Borough Council’s Dartford Together page.

Attendees gathered at the park at 10:40am and were then escorted to the memorial to lay their wreaths.

A two-minute silence at 11am gave pause to remember those who lost their lives during conflicts across the globe.

We invite you to watch a message from our Chairman Ricky Taing with a poem reading from our PR Officer Thomas Gebbett:


DYC Returns… 2020-21 First Meeting

Dartford Youth Council held its inaugural meeting of this academic year, which welcomed fourteen new members from across the borough, presented a speech from the Member of Youth Parliament for South East Hampshire and allowed members to experience a revised Executive Committee election process as a result of the everlasting effects of the coronavirus pandemic.

The meeting was opened by Vice Chair Ricky Taing where he welcomed both new and returning members, followed by an exciting icebreaker activity (through the magic of Zoom) where we had the opportunity to connect with each other and meet our guest speaker.

He then welcomed Gareth Boyes MYP from the Curriculum for Life Awards Scheme to discuss their outreach with schools – an initiative which wishes to accredit schools for their teaching of a ‘curriculum for life’ to gear students to life beyond secondary education. We discussed how we could work with the organisation, especially in promoting the scheme with the schools in our borough. To find out about the scheme and how your school can get involved, click here.

Ricky then invited Dartford Youth Councillor Sanya Sunil to raise the key points mentioned from the Dartford Young People’s Partnership Conversation meeting, which both members attended. The details of the upcoming Try Angle Awards, which Dartford Youth Council were recognised in at the county finals, were also shared with the members. The initiative works to recognise the efforts shown by young people in the county – to nominate a young person, click here.

The highlight of the meeting was the election process for the Executive Committee – due to the impacts of the pandemic, we unanimously agreed that it would be in the best interests of the serving members to offer them another year on the committee.

Whilst Events Officer Babafunto Ojo and Website Administrator Isobel Ibironke chose to continue their roles, Chairman Princess Nwafor and P.R Officer Danielle Okine retired, with Ricky Taing and Zapran Carlsson being newly elected to the roles of Chairman and Vice Chair.

We also welcomed former Vice Chair Thomas Gebbett to serve as PR Officer, with new execs Sanya Sunil as Secretary and Folabomi Ojo as Treasurer. To find out about our new execs, click here.

Reflecting on a successful meeting, newly-elected Secretary Sanya commented: “Getting elected this year was an honour. Over the past year, I have tried my best to participate in all the events DYC has to offer such as the Santa’s House event and the DYPPC meetings. Being a part of this experience has allowed me to express my opinions on certain issues but also the viewpoint of my peers. Furthermore, this opportunity will allow me to continue to play an active role in DYC.”

We must thank Princess Nwafor, Toju and Danielle Okine for serving on the Executive Committee as Chairman, Treasurer and P.R Officer respectively, and wish them the very best towards their future pursuits.

Vice Chair represents at Youth Parliament of Pakistan’s conference

Dartford Youth Council Vice Chairman Ricky Taing was privileged to have been invited to the Youth Parliament of Pakistan’s International Youth Parliamentary Conference, to discuss the current humanitarian crisis in Kashmir as well as talking about the role of young people during the COVID-19 pandemic.

With over forty other guest speakers present, outspoken youth activists, politicians and media professionals gathered via Zoom to discuss the central topic of Kashmir. Our Vice Chairman reflected on the importance of technology in allowing the group’s collective aim of empowering young voices and championing youth voice.

We invite you to watch an overview of the live conference here:

Kent County Youth Councillors

The Dartford Youth Council are represented on a county platform by our Kent Youth County Councillors. They meet monthly at County Hall, Maidstone, amplifying wider youth-related issues, working on campaigns and projects.

Our current 2020-21 Kent County Youth Councillors consist of:

Kweku Asafo-Adjej


To be updated…

Get in touch: info@dartfordyouthcouncil.com

Krish Rana


To be updated…

Get in touch: info@dartfordyouthcouncil.com

To find out more about the Kent County Youth Council, click here.